Interesting results in 2017

In comparison to 2014 and 2015 the concern about the common good in Switzerland increased significantly in 2017. 73 of 100 respondents are fairly to very concerned that the public value in Switzerland receives too little consideration (compared to 65% in 2015 and 68% in 2014). 92 of 100 respondents are of the opinion that private-sector companies have a responsibility to contribute to the common good. This represents a sharp contrast to the current revival of the shareholder value approach, see comment of Sergio Aiolfi in NZZ of 29 July 2017.

From an employer perspective, it is noteworthy that 81 of 100 respondents are inclined to accept salary cuts in order to work for an organization that upholds a high level of public value (76% in 2015 and 71 % in 2014). The consumer view is added to this: Apparently public value orientation also reaps benefits when it comes to shopping. 85 out of 100 respondents indicate that they prefer products or services that are beneficial for the public value, even if they have to spend more on them (86% in 2015 and 74% in 2014) – 16 of 100 respondents were willing to spend more than 10%.

Interesting facts

#1 86 of 100 respondents indicate that they have a clear concept of public value.

#2 95 of 100 respondents believe that they can contribute to public value through their own behavior.

#3 The banking and the media sector stay far behind the expectations of the Swiss population with regard to the contribution to the public value.

#4 Women prefer to work in organizations that uphold a high level of public value, even if it means they earn less.

#5 Respondents in Western and Italian-speaking Switzerland are the most concerned that public value is reiceiving too litte consideration in Switzerland.

The increase of concern about public value emphasizes its growing relevance for the Swiss population. This is probably due to current developments both within and outside the country. It is certainly the case that a large share of the population holds private companies as well as themselves responsible for providing remedy. In this context public value becomes a societal phenomenon as there is a necessity to reconcile organizational actions with the values and needs of the broader society.

Interessante Ergebnisse 2017

Im Vergleich zu 2014 und 2015 ist die Sorge um das Gemeinwohl 2017 in der Schweiz deutlich gestiegen. 73 von 100 Befragten sind eher bis sehr besorgt, dass dem Gemeinwohl in der Schweiz zu wenig Beachtung geschenkt wird (im Vergleich dazu 2015: 65% und 2014: 68%). 92 von 100 Befragten vertreten dabei die Meinung, dass privatwirtschaftliche Unternehmen in der Verantwortung stehen, zum Gemeinwohl beizutragen. Dies steht im Gegensatz zum derzeitigen Revival des Shareholder-Value Gedankens, siehe Kommentar von Sergio Aiolfi in der NZZ vom 29. Juli 2017.

Aus Arbeitgebersicht dürfte interessant sein, dass 81 von 100 Befragten tendenziell bereit sind, Gehaltseinbussen in Kauf zu nehmen, um in einer Organisation zu arbeiten, die das Gemeinwohl hochhält (2015: 76 %; 2014: 71 %). Hinzu kommt die Konsumentensicht: Offensichtlich würde eine Gemeinwohlorientierung auch beim Einkaufen zum Tragen kommen. So geben 85 von 100 Befragten an, gemeinwohlförderliche Produkte zu bevorzugen und dafür tendenziell mehr ausgeben zu wollen (2015: 86 % und 2014: 74 %) – 19 von 100 Befragten sogar mehr als 10 %.

Auf den Punkt

#1 86 von 100 Befragten geben an, eine klare Vorstellung davon zu haben, was Gemeinwohl bedeutet.

#2 95 von 100 Befragten glauben durch ihr eigenes Verhalten einen Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl zu leisten.

#3 Die Banken- und Medienbranche wird den Erwartungen der Schweizer Bevölkerung zum Gemeinwohl am wenigsten gerecht.

#4 Frauen arbeiten lieber in Organisationen, die das Gemeinwohl hochhalten, selbst wenn sie weniger verdienen würden.

#5 Befragte in der Westschweiz und in der italienischsprachigen Schweiz sind am meisten besorgt, dass dem Gemeinwohl in der Schweiz zu wenig Beachtung geschenkt wird.

Der Anstieg in der Sorge um das Gemeinwohl verdeutlicht dessen zunehmende Relevanz für die Bevölkerung in der Schweiz. Dies steht möglicherweise im Zusammenhang mit aktuellen Entwicklungen in und ausserhalb der Schweiz. Fest steht, dass der Grossteil der Schweizer Bevölkerung die Privatunternehmen aber auch sich selbst in der Verantwortung sieht, Abhilfe zu leisten. Damit wird Gemeinwohl zu einem gesamtgesellschaftlichen Phänomen, indem eine Angleichung des Wirkens von Organisationen und den Werten und Bedürfnissen der breiten Gesellschaft notwendig wird.

Video-Projekt von Studierenden der Universität St.Gallen