Interesting results in 2017

In comparison to 2014 and 2015 the concern about the common good in Switzerland increased significantly in 2017. 73 of 100 respondents are fairly to very concerned that the public value in Switzerland receives too little consideration (compared to 65% in 2015 and 68% in 2014). 92 of 100 respondents are of the opinion that private-sector companies have a responsibility to contribute to the common good. This represents a sharp contrast to the current revival of the shareholder value approach, see comment of Sergio Aiolfi in NZZ of 29 July 2017.

From an employer perspective, it is noteworthy that 81 of 100 respondents are inclined to accept salary cuts in order to work for an organization that upholds a high level of public value (76% in 2015 and 71 % in 2014). The consumer view is added to this: Apparently public value orientation also reaps benefits when it comes to shopping. 85 out of 100 respondents indicate that they prefer products or services that are beneficial for the public value, even if they have to spend more on them (86% in 2015 and 74% in 2014) – 16 of 100 respondents were willing to spend more than 10%.

Interesting facts

#1 86 of 100 respondents indicate that they have a clear concept of public value.

#2 95 of 100 respondents believe that they can contribute to public value through their own behavior.

#3 The banking and the media sector stay far behind the expectations of the Swiss population with regard to the contribution to the public value.

#4 Women prefer to work in organizations that uphold a high level of public value, even if it means they earn less.

#5 Respondents in Western and Italian-speaking Switzerland are the most concerned that public value is reiceiving too litte consideration in Switzerland.

The increase of concern about public value emphasizes its growing relevance for the Swiss population. This is probably due to current developments both within and outside the country. It is certainly the case that a large share of the population holds private companies as well as themselves responsible for providing remedy. In this context public value becomes a societal phenomenon as there is a necessity to reconcile organizational actions with the values and needs of the broader society.

Résultats intéressants de 2017

En 2017, l’intérêt pour le bien commun en Suisse a nettement augmenté comparé à 2014 et à 2015. 73 % des personnes interrogées sont plutôt à très inquiètes que le bien commun ne soit pas assez considéré en Suisse (en comparaison, ils étaient 65 % en 2015 et 68 % en 2014). 92 % des personnes interrogées sont d’avis que les entreprises privées se doivent de concourir au bien commun. Ceci est en contradiction totale avec l’idée de la renaissance actuelle du Shareholder-Value, voir à ce propos le commentaire de Sergio Aiolfi dans le NZZ du 29 juillet 2017.

Les employeurs sont sûrement intéressés de savoir que 81 % des personnes interrogées sont prêtes à gagner moins pour travailler dans une organisation qui accorde une grande valeur au bien commun (76 % en 2015 et 71 % en 2014). En ce qui concerne les consommateurs : le caractère favorable au bien commun d’un produit aurait manifestement une conséquence sur ses ventes. En effet, 85 % des personnes interrogées disent préférer des produits favorables au bien commun et être prêtes à dépenser plus d’argent pour les acquérir (86 % en 2015 et 74 % en 2014). 19 % d’entre elles sont même prêtes à payer plus de 10 % en plus.

Données intéressantes

#1 86 % des personnes interrogées affirment avoir une idée précise de ce que signifie le bien commun.

#2 95 % des personnes interrogées affirment pouvoir contribuer aussi au bien commun par leur comportement.

#3 Les banques et les médias sont les secteurs économiques qui répondent le moins aux attentes que la population suisse a vis-à-vis de la contribution au bien commun.

#4 Les femmes préfèrent travailler dans les organisations qui défendent le bien commun même si cela implique pour elles de gagner moins.

#5 Ce sont les personnes interrogées domiciliées en Suisse occidentale et italienne qui sont les plus inquiètes du manque de considération dont bénéficie le bien commun en Suisse.

Le fait que la population s’inquiète de plus en plus du bien commun est la preuve de l’importance grandissante qu’il a dans la société suisse. Ceci est sûrement lié aux évolutions récentes observées aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur de la Suisse. Force est de constater que la plus grande partie de la population suisse considère que les entreprises privées sont aussi responsables au même titre qu’elle-même du bien commun. Ceci fait du bien commun un phénomène général de société qui demande une harmonisation entre les actes des organisations et les valeurs et besoins de la majeur partie de la population.