Sample

Public Value Atlas 2017:
In 2017, the survey covered a total of 14502 persons aged 18 to 92 and living in Switzerland. Apart from the German speaking area, French and Italian speaking parts of Switzerland were included in the sample for the first time.

Public Value Atlas 2015:
In 2015, a total of 5052 persons aged between 18 and 90 living in the German-speaking part of Switzerland were surveyed.

Public Value Atlas 2014:
The data collection in 2014 comprised 4483 persons aged between 18 and 88 years and living in the German-speaking part of Switzerland.

If the respondents knew at least three of the listed organizations, they were invited to evaluate the public value contribution of the randomly selected individual organizations according to the four dimensions: quality of life, task fulfillment, social cohesion, and morality. Both samples were drawn randomly, and were proportionally stratified and representative of the population (according to the current data of the Swiss Federal Statistical Office) in terms of gender, age, level of education, and region of residence. During the analysis, different response rates in various strata were monitored and balanced by additional disproportionally stratified random samples. Owing to the questionnaire-specific screening categories, there were only minor deviations in the representative distribution concerning age (± 3 percent) and region of residence (± 4 percent). The quotas with regard to gender and education were maintained without deviations (deviations in 2014: age ± 3 percent, region of residence and education ± 5 percent).

The respondents are all registered on the market research institute intervista ’s online panel, which has more than 75,000 registered participants and is subject to continuous quality control.

Selection of analyzed organizations

The selection of the analyzed companies and organizations was conducted in two steps.
First a list was created with the most important companies and organizations according to specific criteria, for example, turnover and circulation (media). Second, a representative population sample evaluated the selected companies and organizations according to how familiar they were with them. Only the best known organizations were part of the main survey and form part of the Public Value Atlas.

Step 1: Composition of the important organizations

Only the largest and best known Swiss companies, banks, insurance companies, and cooperatives formed part of the organizations selected for the 2014 data collection.
These included the 50 Swiss companies with the highest turnover, all SMI (Swiss Market Index)-listed companies, as well as the ten biggest Swiss insurance companies, banks, and cooperatives (79 organizations in total).
In addition, the following media, NGOs, and public sector organizations were included in the questionnaire: SRF (Swiss Radio and Television, Blick, NZZ, Schweizer Armee (Swiss Armed Forces), Schweizerisches Rotes Kreuz (Swiss Red Cross), and WWF.

In comparison to 2014, the 2015 list of the familiarity inquiry also included the 50 most valuable international brands (Brand Finance study). In addition, the list was expanded with the ten biggest Swiss family-owned enterprises and aid agencies for development cooperation (aidrating.ch) ― measured according to turnover ― as well as the media houses with the largest reach in the German-speaking part of Switzerland and public sector associations and organizations (e.g., Spitex, TCS, Rega, Bundesamt für Polizei (Federal Police Office)).

In 2017, the sources used for the evaluation were updated, which led to slight changes in comparison to the organizations preselected in 2015. Included were all SMI (Swiss Market Index) listed companies, the top 50 Swiss companies by turnover (data Segmentas, retrieved in August 2016), 11 of the most valuable international brands (Brand Finance study), the 15 largest banks by balance sheet total in Switzerland (data statistica), the largest Swiss indemnity insurances (data statistica) and health insurance companies by market share (data Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA), the 17 largest family businesses in Switzerland (data familybusinessindex), the 10 largest cooperatives in Switzerland (data BILANZ), 15 NGOs with the strongest revenue growth, 13 public sector organizations, the six football associations of the Super League Switzerland in the season 2015/2016 with the highest average number of spectators (data statistica), the 10 daily newspapers with the highest average circulation (data statistica), leading companies in detail trade by turnover (data statistica), the protestant church of Switzerland, the roman catholic church of Switzerland, important digital organizations and notable organizations in French and Italian speaking Switzerland.

Step 2: Familiarity inquiry

Only the best known companies and organizations are included in the main survey. In order to identify these, we conducted a preliminary investigation by asking persons living in Switzerland to evaluate the largest and most important companies in Switzerland in sequence of their familiarity with these companies. In 2017, a total of 501 persons were included in the preliminary investigation (250 evaluations per organization). In 2015, a total of 465 persons participated in the familiarity inquiry, and a total of 800 persons in 2014.

Data collection

Survey period

Public Value Atlas 2017: The anonymous survey was conducted over a period of four weeks in May/June 2017.

Public Value Atlas 2015: The anonymous survey took place over a four-week period in June/July 2015.

Public Value Atlas 2014: The anonymous survey took place over three weeks in February/March 2014.

Questionnaire

In an online questionnaire, items could be evaluated on a Likert scale of 1 to 6 (e.g., Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The (particular organization) complies with accepted standards of morality. 1=disagree; 6=agree).

Pre-tests

The online questionnaire underwent a pre-test to determine the average processing time and to verify how clearly the questions or statements had been formulated. In addition to a quantitative survey, a qualitative observation pre-test was also conducted, in which the respondents’ reactions during the processing of the questionnaire were documented.  

Pre-test sample Public Value Atlas 2017:
128 persons in total.

Pre-test sample Public Value Atlas 2015:
100 persons in total.

Pre-test sample Public Value Atlas 2014: 
65 persons in total.

Familiarity

In the main survey, the respondents could only evaluate organizations if they knew them sufficiently. (Item: Please study this list of Swiss and international companies and organizations. How well do you know these companies and organizations? Please answer the questions by using the scale below, where 1 means you don’t know the company/organization at all and are thus not able to give an opinion. 6 means you know the company/organization and are thus able to give an opinion. You can grade your answer with the scale values of 2 to 5.)
At the beginning of the survey, the respondents were requested to indicate how well they know the individual organizations on a scale from 1-6. Only participants who gave a familiarity score equal to, or greater than, 4 were requested to evaluate the public value contribution of these particular organizations.

Public value contribution

If the respondent had sufficient knowledge of the organizations, he/she received a selection of up to six organizations to evaluate their public value contribution. Organizations from the Canton of St.Gallen were only evaluated by persons living in this canton.

The measurement of the public value contributions was based on the four dimensions, i.e., task fulfillment, social cohesion, quality of life, and morality:

  • Task fulfillment: This particular organization performs well in ist core business.
  • Social cohesion: This particular organization contributes to the social cohesion in Switzerland.
  • Quality of life: This particular organization contributes to the quality of life in Switzerland.
  • Morality: This particular organization complies with accepted standards of morality.

The measurement of public value contributions by means of single-item measures is based on earlier studies’ results (see Meynhardt and Bartholomes, 2011, as well as Strathoff and Bilolo, 2014).

Data evaluation

Score building

The public value score provides information on how the Swiss population perceives an organization's public value contribution. The unweighted average of the evaluation of the four public value dimensions is used to calculate the score. Organizations with a good total score, showed a high value contribution in all four dimensions.

In 2017, each of the 106 organizations was evaluated by at least 770 peoples living in Switzerland. With this, the number of respondents increased considerably by min. 227 in 2015 and min. 300 in 2014. In addition, the survey was extended to the whole of Switzerland (limited to the German speaking part in 2015 and 2014).

In 2017, the public value scores ranged from 5.56 to 2.43 (in 2015 from 5.41 to 2.87 and in 2014 from 5.39 to 2.64). These values are valid and/or “true”for the analyzed sample, the respondents. In order to infer the underlying “true” value applicable to the entire population, a statistical tool, namely the confidence interval, needs to be used. The confidence interval indicates an area, or interval, with a defined probability of being a “true” value. In this way it is possible to cope with fluctuations, or variances, in the answers and the number of respondents. A confidence interval with a confidence level of 99.9% was specified to classify the groups. This means there is a 99.9% probability that the “true” value will lie within the identified value range between the upper and lower boundary of the interval. A higher selected confidence level leads to a lower risk of wrong assessments, but a wider interval. The confidence interval is individually calculated for each organization, because they have different characteristics: the number of respondents, the variance, or standard deviation, and the mean.

Group classification

The same principle of the confidence interval was also applied to the mean of all the organizations forming the basis of the organizations’ classification. The reason for this is that this mean is also an estimation and, depending on the fluctuations, the average of the organizations also fluctuates.

An organization thus enters the top group if the lowest value of its confidence interval is above the highest value of the confidence interval of the mean of all the organizations. Only then can we maintain that the mean of the particular organization has a 99.9% probability of being above the mean of all the organizations. Consequently, an organization with a higher mean compared to other organizations in the top group may sometimes not be included in this group, due to the marked fluctuations in the answers and, thus, a too wide confidence interval. Under such circumstances, an organization’s confidence interval overlaps the confidence interval of the mean of all the organizations.

Reciprocally, an organization can enter the bottom group if the highest value of its confidence interval is below the lowest value of the confidence interval of the mean of all the organizations. More information on this in the FAQ.

Limitations

The Public Value Atlas includes the biggest and best known international and national companies in Switzerland, as well as additional selected organizations. Bear in mind that only a section of important Swiss organizations is shown.

The results of the Public Value Atlas are to be interpreted as a snapshot. A comparison of the results in 2017 with those obtained in previus years allows initial conclusions on the development of the public vlue contribution of individual organizations over time. It will be of interest to monitor further developments in future data collections.
It should be taken into account that the results relate to a specific cultural context. For example, the public value contribution of internationally active organizations may be evaluated differently in other countries and cultural environments. However, a comparison with different cultural environments is only possible if the study is extended to other countries.
In 2015 the study was conducted for the first time in Germany and published on 30 October 2015. You can find the Public Value Atlas Germany here.

L’échantillon

Atlas du bien commun 2017:
En 2017, l’enquête a été menée sur un total de 14 502 personnes âgées de 18 à 92 ans et domiciliées en Suisse. En 2017, l’enquête s’étendait aussi et cela pour la première fois à la Suisse romande et italienne en plus de la Suisse alémanique.

Atlas du bien commun 2015:
5052 personnes âgées de 18 à 90 ans et domiciliées en Suisse alémanique ont été interrogées en 2015.

Atlas du bien commun 2014:
L’enquête a été menée en 2014 sur 4483 personnes âgées de 18 à 88 ans et domiciliées en Suisse alémanique.

Lorsque les personnes interrogées connaissaient au moins trois des organisations présentes dans la liste, elles étaient invitées à évaluer dans quelle mesure une organisation choisie au hasard contribue au bien commun conformément aux quatre dimensions (qualité de vie, exécution des tâches, cohésion sociale et morale). Les deux échantillons ont été tirés au sort par strates proportionnelles ; l’échantillonnage est représentatif de la population (conformément aux données actuelles de l’office fédéral des statistiques) selon les critères de sexe, d’âge, de niveau d’études et de domicile. Au cours de l’enquête, les écarts observés entre les taux de réponses dans les différentes strates ont été ajustés et compensés par d’autres échantillons tirés au hasard par strates disproportionnelles. En raison des critères de visualisation spécifiques au questionnaire, de faibles divergences dans la distribution représentative de l’âge de ± 3 % et du domicile de ± 4 % se firent jour. Les écarts relatifs au sexe et au niveau d’études ont pu être maintenus sans variation (variation en 2014 : âge ± 3 %, région et niveau d’études ± 5 %).

Les personnes interrogées étaient des participants inscrits à l’échantillon en ligne sur le site de l’institut d’études de marché intervista qui dispose en Suisse d’une banque de données de plus de 75 000 personnes et est régulièrement soumis à des contrôles de qualité.

Sélection des organisations étudiées

Les entreprises et organisations étudiées ont été sélectionnées en deux étapes. Dans un premier temps, une liste des entreprises et des organisations les plus importantes a été établie à l’aide de critères précis comme le chiffre d’affaires ou le tirage (dans le cas des médias). Dans un deuxième temps, nous avons demandé à un échantillon représentatif de la population d’évaluer la notoriété des entreprises et organisations sélectionnées. Seules les organisations les plus connues ont été sélectionnées pour l’enquête proprement dite et font partie de l’Atlas du bien commun.

1ère étape : liste des organisations les plus importantes

Les entreprises, banques, assurances et coopératives suisses les plus grandes et les plus connues font partie des organisations sélectionnées pour le recensement de 2014. On y retrouve les 50 entreprises suisses qui présentent le plus important chiffre d’affaires, toutes les entreprises cotées au SMI (Swiss Market Index), ainsi que les dix plus grosses assurances, banques et coopératives suisses (79 organisations en tout).
Les médias, les organisations à but non lucratif et les organisations du domaine public suivants ont été intégrés à l’enquête : la radio et la télévision suisses, Blick, NZZ, l’armée suisse, la Croix-Rouge suisse et WWF.

Contrairement à 2014, les 50 plus grandes marques internationales (étude Brand Finance) ont été intégrées à la liste pour l’enquête de notoriété en 2015. La liste a aussi été complétée par les dix entreprises familiales suisses et œuvres de bienfaisance spécialisées dans la coopération avec les pays en développement ayant réalisé le plus gros chiffre d’affaires, par les médias ayant la plus grande diffusion en Suisse alémanique ainsi que par les fédérations et organisations du domaine public (comme Spitex, TCS, Rega, l’office fédéral de la police).

En 2017, la source utilisée pour sélectionner les entreprises a été actualisée ce qui entraîna quelques modifications à la présélection effectuée en 2015. Cette sélection comprenait toutes les entreprises cotées au SMI (Swiss Market Index), les 50 premières entreprises suisses en terme de chiffre d’affaire (données Segmentas, dans sa version d’août 2016), les 11 marques internationales les plus chères en 2016 (étude Brand Finance), les 15 plus importantes banques suisses en terme de somme au bilan (données statista), les 7 plus grandes assurances (données statista) et assurances maladie (FINMA) en Suisse en terme de part de marché, les 17 plus grandes entreprises familiales suisses (données familybusinessindex), les 10 plus grandes associations coopératives suisse (données BILANZ), 15 ONG présentant une forte évolution de leurs recettes, 13 organisations du secteur public, 6 clubs de football de la Super League Suisse qui ont réuni durant la saison 2015/2016 le plus grand nombre de spectateur (données statista), les 10 quotidiens au tirage moyen le plus élevé de Suisse (Daten statista), les entreprises les plus importantes du domaine du commerce de détail de Suisse mesuré à leur chiffre d’affaires (Daten statista), l’église évangélique suisse, l’école catholique et romaine suisse, les organisations numériques et les organisations les plus importantes de Suisse romande et italienne.

2ème étape : l’enquête de notoriété

Seules les entreprises et organisations les plus connues ont été intégrées à l’enquête principale. Pour les identifier, nous avons demandé, au cours d’une enquête préliminaire, à des personnes vivant en Suisse d’évaluer la notoriété des entreprises les plus grandes et les plus importantes de Suisse. Au total, 501 personnes ont participé à l’enquête de notoriété en 2017 (250 évaluations par organisation). 465 personnes au total ont participé en 2015, elles étaient 800 personnes en 2014.

Collecte des données

Durée de l’enquête

Atlas du bien commun 2017: l’enquête anonyme a été effectuée en mai/juin 2017, pendant une durée de cinq semaines environ.

Atlas du bien commun 2015: l’enquête anonyme a eu lieu sur une durée de quatre semaines en juin/juillet 2015.

Atlas du bien commun 2014:  L’enquête a été effectuée de façon anonyme durant trois semaines en février /mars 2014.

Questionnaire

Dans le cadre d’un questionnaire en ligne, des affirmations pouvaient être évaluées sur une échelle de Likert allant de 1 à 6 (comme « êtes-vous d’accord ou pas avec l’affirmation suivante : l’entreprise (organisation correspondante) se comporte décemment. 1 = pas d’accord ; 6 = d’accord »).

Test préliminaire

Le questionnaire en ligne a été soumis à un test préliminaire pour connaître le temps de réponse moyen et contrôler l’intelligibilité des questions. En complément de l’enquête quantitative, un test préliminaire d’observation qualitative a été effectué au cours duquel les réactions des personnes qui répondaient au questionnaire ont été documentées.

Echantillon du test préliminaire pour l’Atlas du bien commun 2017:
128 personnes au total.

Echantillon du test préliminaire pour l’Atlas du bien commun 2015:
100 personnes au total.

Echantillon du test préliminaire pour l’Atlas du bien commun 2014: 
65 personnes au total.

Notoriété

Dans le cadre de l’enquête principale, les personnes interrogées ne pouvaient évaluer les organisations que lorsque celles-ci leur étaient suffisamment connues (question : « Voici une liste d’entreprises et d’organisations suisses et internationales. Les connaissez-vous ? Si oui, que savez-vous exactement sur ces entreprises et organisations ? Veuillez utiliser pour répondre l’échelle de réponses ci-dessous. 1 signifie que vous ne connaissez pas du tout l’entreprise/l’organisation et que vous n’avez donc pas d’opinion. 6 signifie que vous connaissez l’entreprise/l’organisation et que vous avez une opinion. Les réponses 2 à 5 vous permettent de nuancer votre réponse »).
Au début de l’enquête, les participants ont été invités à évaluer sur une échelle située entre 1 et 6 s’ils connaissaient bien les différentes organisations. Seuls les participants qui ont coché la valeur 4 ou plus lors de l’enquête de notoriété ont été invités à évaluer la contribution au bien commun de l’organisation donnée.

Contribution au bien commun

Lorsque les organisations étaient suffisamment connues, les participants étaient invités à évaluer la contribution au bien commun d’une sélection de six organisations maximum. Les organisations du canton de Saint-Gall n’ont été évaluées que par les personnes domiciliées dans cette région.

La mesure de leur contribution au bien commun était évaluée à l’aune des quatre dimensions : exécution des tâches, cohésion, qualité de vie et morale:

  • Exécution des tâches: L’entreprise … fait du bon travail dans le cadre de son activité principale.
  • Cohésion: L’entreprise … concourt à une plus grande cohésion sociale de la Suisse.
  • Qualité de vie: L’entreprise … participe à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie en Suisse.
  • Morale: L’entreprise… se comporte décemment.

La mesure de la contribution au bien commun effectuée à l’aide de Single-Item-Measures est basée sur les études menées précédemment (cf. Meynhardt et Bartholomes, 2011 ainsi que Strathoff et Bilolo, 2014).

Analyse des données

Calcul du score

Le score du bien commun indique comment la contribution des organisations au bien commun est perçue par la population alémanique. Il est calculé à partir de la moyenne non pondérée des notes obtenues dans les quatre dimensions. Les organisations qui ont obtenu un bon score présentent une valeur élevée dans toutes ces dimensions.

Chacune des 106 organisations a été évaluée en 2017 par au moins 770 personnes domiciliées en Suisse. Le nombre de personnes interrogées est donc nettement plus élevé en 2017 qu’en 2015 (227 personnes minimum) et qu’en 2014 (300 personnes minimum). Parallèlement à cela, l’enquête a été élargie à toute la Suisse (elle était limitée en 2015 et 2014 à la Suisse alémanique).

Les scores du bien commun obtenus en 2017 s’échelonnent entre 5.56 et 2.43 (en 2015 : entre 5.41 et 2.87, en 2014 : entre 5.39 et 2.64). Ces valeurs sont valables ou « vraies » pour l’échantillon étudié, c’est-à-dire les personnes interrogées. Pour pouvoir cependant déduire les « vraies valeurs » sous-tendues qui peuvent être valables pour toute la population, il faut utiliser un outil statistique : l’intervalle de confiance. L’intervalle de confiance indique avec une certaine probabilité un domaine ou un intervalle contenant la « vraie » valeur. Il permet ainsi de prendre en compte les divergences ou la variance entre les réponses et le nombre de personnes interrogées. Pour répartir les groupes, un intervalle de confiance doté d’un niveau de confiance de 99,9 % a été fixé. Ceci signifie que nous pouvons à 99,9 % partir du principe que la « vraie » valeur se trouve à l’intérieure du domaine calculé entre la limite supérieure et inférieure de l’intervalle. Plus on choisit un niveau de confiance élevé et minimise ainsi le risque d’une faute d’appréciation, plus l’intervalle est large. Cet intervalle de confiance est recalculé pour chaque organisation dans la mesure où les caractéristiques suivantes les distinguent : le nombre de personnes interrogées, la variance ou l’écart type et la valeur moyenne.

Répartition en groupes

Le même principe que l’intervalle de confiance a été utilisé pour calculer la valeur moyenne de toutes les organisations. Celle-ci sert de base à la répartition des organisations en trois groupes, ce qui est justifié par le fait que cette valeur moyenne est elle-même une estimation qui fluctue selon les variations de la valeur moyenne des organisations.

Une organisation donnée atteint ainsi le peloton de tête quand la valeur la plus faible de son intervalle de confiance est située au-dessus de la valeur la plus élevée de l’intervalle de confiance de la valeur moyenne de toutes les organisations. Ce n’est en effet qu’à cette condition que nous pouvons affirmer que la valeur moyenne de l’organisation en question est située à 99,9 % au-dessus de la valeur moyenne de toutes les organisations. Il peut cependant parfois arriver qu’une organisation ait certes une valeur moyenne élevée, mais qu’elle ne rentre pas dans le peloton de tête contrairement aux organisations qui s’y trouvent avec une valeur plus basse parce que la variation des réponses et ainsi l’intervalle de confiance sont trop grands. Dans ce cas, l’intervalle de confiance de l’organisation se recoupe avec celui de la valeur moyenne de toutes les organisations.

Dans le cas contraire, une organisation rejoint le groupe « des peuvent-mieux-faire » quand la valeur la plus élevée de son intervalle de confiance est située en dessous de la valeur la plus basse de l’intervalle de confiance de la valeur moyenne de toutes les organisations. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations au chapitre FAQ.

Limites

L’Atlas du bien commun évalue les entreprises internationales et fédérales les plus grandes et les plus connues de Suisse ainsi que certaines organisations sélectionnées. Ce faisant, il ne présente qu’une sélection de toutes les organisations importantes présentent en Suisse.

Les résultats de l’Atlas du bien commun présentent un instantané pris à un moment donné. La comparaison entre les résultats obtenus par l’Atlas du bien commun de 2017 et celui des années précédentes permet de tirer les premières conclusions sur l’évolution dans le temps de la contribution au bien commun des différentes organisations. Il sera intéressant d’observer l’évolution des résultats dans le temps après la prochaine enquête.
Il faut noter que les résultats font référence à un contexte culturel spécifique. C’est ainsi que la contribution au bien commun de certaines organisations actives au niveau international peut être évaluée différemment selon le pays ou le milieu culturel où l’enquête a eu lieu. La comparaison entre plusieurs milieux culturels n’est possible que lorsque l’enquête est menée dans différents pays. En 2015, l’enquête a été menée pour la première fois en Allemagne et a été publiée le 30 octobre 2015. Vous pouvez consulter ici l’Atlas du bien commun pour l’Allemagne.